Division H Contest 2019 Results


Division H Contest 2019 Results

Held Cranfield University, Saturday 9th, 2019

Humorous Speech: Chaired by Richard Foster-Fletcher

Winner         Ged Byrne, Area 32

2ND Place     Surosh Pillay, Area 20

3RD Place    Katherine Anderson (KAT), Area 32

Well done Gabriel Ansah, Gurps Khaira, Harjit Lakhan, Andrew Luckham & Kevin Newey as all contestants were outstanding.


Table Topics: Chaired by Jenny Chalmers

Winner     Jenny Btrit, Area 32

2ND Place     Kevin Newey, Area 14

3RD Place    Mandy Davis, Area 20

Well done Samantha Faircloth, Michael Hallett, Andrew Luckham, Miriam Nawagamuwa & Lynn Schindler on also telling us “What the Good fairy forgot to give you at birth?”.

Clifford Hurst was chief Judge for both contests

We were also treated to Inspirational talks from:

  • John Cox our District 71 Director on “The Wider Toastmaster World”
  • Anita Devi told us about “Three Everyday Heroes”
  • Judith Jones-Nugent urged us to “Enhance our Speeches through Effective Questioning”
  • Raza Khan showed us how to improve outcomes with “Emotional Intelligence”


Many of you contributed to the contest’s success and we are very grateful!

We had 59 attendees including Toastmasters from Division G, family members and guests supporting the event. An engaging and interactive audience facilitated the high quality and total experience of the conference. The laughter levels were indeed high!

I wish to thank our hosts Cranfield Speakers and Cranfield University for the venue.

Thank you all, but especially my Area Directors – John Allsop (20), Violet Cuffy (32) and Paulina Blaszczyk (44)

Closing words from John Cox:

Thank you.  

It was a fabulous day.  Many thanks also for the lunch and the wine.  The day was very entertaining – great speeches, great organisation, great company.  I look forward to seeing the photos.”  


John Kendall

Division H Director






We wish to recognise these people in your clubs for what they have contributed to your success both this year and over many years.


Area 14

Unsung Hero

Known Club Stalwart

Anglia Communicators

Jeremy Turner

Andrew Luckham

ARM Cambridge Toastmasters

Raffaele Aquilone

Kevin Newey

G-Toast UK

Gary Foster

Adeline Morel

Huntingdonshire Speakers

Faye Ritchie

Darren Walton

(p) Swavesey Speakers

Peter Milbank

Tony Stead


Area 20


East Herts Speakers

Anna Xiao

Liz Burnett

Hertfordshire Speakers

Bryan Chipchase

Elizabeth Jordan

North Herts Speakers

Judith Jones-Nugent 

Lynne Wilkins

Stevenage Speakers

Gurps Khaira

Andrea Lee

(p) GSK Ware Toastmasters

Jake Mallon

Rebecca Wigmore


Area 32


Cornerstone Communicators Advance Toastmasters

Clifford Hurst

Jenny Chalmers

Luton Communicators

Fiky Wilkinson

Mujib Rahman

Luton Speakers

Kat Anderson

Rose Marie Calder

West Herts Speakers

Colin Donald

Judy Mallinson


Area 44


Bedford Speakers

James Lowden

Valerie Swanborough

Cranfield Speakers

Michael Hallett

Binal Sawjani

Eldergate Toastmasters

Gabby Ansah

Jono Poon

MK Confident Speakers

Jenny Chalmers

Binal Sawjani

North Bucks Speakers

Rucha Nagraj

Gordon Adams

Northampton Speakers

Tayo Bowyer

Daniel Sandars


NB (p) = Prospective club



Thank you all

John Kendall

Division H Director



Leave a comment